Direct British rule in Chhattisgarh 1854 to 1947

British rule in Chhattisgarh

After the death of Bhonsle ruler Raghuji III on December 11, 1853, and because he had no heir, on March 13, 1854, Lord Dalhousie merged Nagpur Maratha State into the British Empire under the usurpation policy.

Later, Chhattisgarh also came under direct British control.

After the establishment of direct British rule (1854), three tahutadariyas of Sihawa, Khallari, and Sanjari were created in Chhattisgarh.

New Commissioner “Mansal” was appointed in Nagpur. On February 1, 1855, Gopalrao, the last district of Chhattisgarh, handed over the rule of Chhattisgarh to Charles C. Elliot.

A Deputy Commissioner was appointed in all the districts under Nagpur.

Deputy Commissioner and Assistant Commissioner Headquarters – Raipur. First Deputy Commissioner of Chhattisgarh – Charles C. Elliot (1854 – 1862) Assistant Commissioner – Gopalrao (Bilaspur), last District Collector Mobib-ul-Hassan (Raipur) Chhattisgarh and Tehsildari System After the merger of Chhattisgarh with the British Empire, Tehsildari system was started in 1854 to help in administrative work.

Tehsildars were given both civil and criminal powers.

The first three tehsils in Chhattisgarh were Raipur, Dhamtari, and Ratanpur. Navagarh and Dhamdha tehsils were created on 1 February 1857.

In July 1857, Durg was made a new tehsil in place of Dhamdha.

The total number of tehsils was 5. Reorganization of Parganas

During the British rule, by reorganizing the parganas of the Maratha period, a new post of Tehsildar was created in place of the post of Kamavisdar.

Also, new parganas like Gulu, Simga, Maro, and Bijapur were created and this post It was reserved for Indians.

Formation of Central Province

On 2 November 1861, a new province, Central Province, was formed by the British rule from Nagpur State, which was part of Chhattisgarh, for the operation of the administrative system.

Chhattisgarh division in 1862 and three districts were Sabalpur, Bilaspur and Raipur under it.

A Deputy Commissioner was appointed in each district in Chhattisgarh.

Nagpur region of the state – It had three divisions – Nagpur division (Nagpur, Wardha, Bhandara and Chanda districts), Raipur division (Raipur, Bilaspur and Sambalpur districts) and Godavari Taluk division (Godavari Taluk, Upper Godavari and Bastar districts).

Sagar Narmada region – It consisted of two divisions – Sagar division (Sagar, Damoh and Hoshangabad districts) and Jabalpur division (Jabalpur, Mandla and Seoni districts).


You might also enjoy:

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *